Since Camp Newaygo’s founding in 1926, campers have enjoyed the traditional pastime of any summer camp – arts and crafts. The original building was erected in 1949 and served as the hub of creativity for over 65 years, producing countless friendship bracelets, tie-dye shirts, and clay art. As camp grew, our facilities struggled to keep up with the increasing need for space and supplies. In order to provide the best experience for campers and guests, Camp recognized the need for an update to this seasonal building.
In 2017, the newly-renovated facility was unveiled as The Peggie Stone Center, part of our Building a Healthy Future campaign.
This year-round facility still retains its original wood flooring, with a fully-restored fieldstone fireplace and central heating/air-conditioning. An additional room called the Lakeside Room, a restroom and a traditional darkroom for photography was added. The facility transforms after summer into a great location for birthday parties, showers, open houses and meetings.