2020 Summer Awards

Every summer we honor selected outstanding campers and staff. These awards are voted on by the summer staff and celebrated in the Log Book. Featured below are the award recipients from Summer 2020:

Rookie of The Year – Katy Pickens A first-year staff member

Appreciation – Nurse Carlene & Alex Kuske A staff member or volunteer

Dedication – Sylvie Isaac The highest honor given to a staff member or volunteer

Independence Day Grommets – Hannah Sharp & Julie Ashbaugh
One outstanding Camper & Counselor given the grommets from our flag retirement ceremony

Grommets – Hannah Sharp & Julie Ashbaugh

July Torches –  Louisa Cowen & Alex Farley
Two campers (one from units & one from cabins) that light the final campfire of Session 4

Louisa Cowen, July Torch

Alex Farley, July Torch

August Lights – Annie Poch, Lauren Jeffery, & Ella Best
Three campers (one from cabins, one from young units, and one from older units) that light the wishing boats for the ceremony

Light of Faith – Annie Poch

Light of Hope – Lauren Jeffery

Light of Love – Ella Best

Dedicator – Carrie Nielsen
A Last-Year-Camper (LYC) who writes the staff award pages in the log book. The highest award you can earn as a camper

Dedicator – Carrie Nielsen

Volunteer Awards

Program – Bridget Fitzpatrick
A volunteer who assists with Camp programs. Bridget, who lives in Columbus, OH, worked remotely for the duration of the summer on Lake Pickerel. She was at camp daily – driving the speedboat, dressing up for evening programs, and facilitating camp staff store runs to ensure safe quarantine. 

Admin- Jelanie Bush
Jelanie adhered to strict summer COVID-19 protocols in order to help at camp. During check-in and check-out days, she answered the phones. She did mail runs, proofed camper letters, and made camp life easier – taking on any task asked of her.

Congratulations to these fantastic recipients for their achievement. The beautiful tradition of these awards is one of the pieces that makes Camp Newaygo such a special place.