Camper, Staff, and Volunteer Awards 2019

Every summer we honor selected outstanding campers and staff. These awards are voted on by the summer staff and celebrated in the Log Book. Featured below are the award recipients from Summer 2019:

Rookie of The Year – Laura Schouman
A first-year staff member









Appreciation – Nate Good
A staff member or volunteer









Dedication – Nurse Sue
The highest honor given to a staff member or volunteer








Independence Day Grommets – Jessica Dockery and Mykynna Manor
One outstanding Camper & Counselor given the grommets from our flag retirement ceremony





July Torches –  Danielle Kostyuk & Frannie Boyle
Two campers (one from units & one from cabins) that light the final campfire of Session 4








August Lights – Elise Bradley, Kira Boyd, Annabel Bee
Three campers (one from cabins, one from young units, and one from older units) that light the wishing boats for the ceremony





















Dedicator – Hannah Cunningham
A Last-Year-Camper (LYC) who writes the staff award pages in the log book. The highest award you can earn as a camper








Volunteer Awards

Program – Sarah Kane
A volunteer who assists with Camp programs. Sarah was a daily summer volunteer, driving for camping trips and helping make camp possible, and is a member of our Advisory Board

Admin- Sarah Harris
Sarah serves as a member of our advisory board. This year she helped frame artwork for the new Health and Leadership Lodge with her work at The Nines Gallery & Framing Studio.

Congratulations to these fantastic recipients for their achievement. The beautiful tradition of these awards is one of the pieces that makes Camp Newaygo such a special place.