Camper and Staff Awards 2017

Every summer we honor selected outstanding campers and staff. These awards are voted on by the summer staff and celebrated in the Log Book. Featured below are the award recipients from Summer 2016:

Rookie of The Year – Charlie Maguire
A first-year staff member

Appreciation – Bridget Fitzpatrick
A staff member or volunteer

Dedication – Emily Novick
The highest honor given to a staff member or volunteer

Independence Day Grommets – Cathy Briscoe & Serenity (Ren) Pastor
One outstanding Camper & Counselor given the grommets from our flag retirement ceremony

July Torches – Katie Chamberlin & Maddie Slade
Two campers (one from units & one from cabins) that light the final campfire of Session 4

August Lights – Addie Lewis, Taisia Kalinina, Athena Parkin
Three campers (one from cabins, one from young units, and one from older units) that light the wishing boats for the ceremony

Dedicator – Elizabeth (Bitsy) Mammel
A Last-Year-Camper (LYC) who writes the staff award pages in the log book. The highest award you can earn as a camper

Congratulations to these fantastic young women for their achievement. The beautiful tradition of these awards is one of the pieces that makes Camp Newaygo such a special place.